Why does America hate America?

Gallup: In Shift, More Americans Now Call Themselves Democrats

By E&P Staff

Published: March 29, 2006 12:15 PM ET
NEW YORK In a (perhaps) historic shift, more Americans now consider themselves Democrats than Republicans, the Gallup organization revealed today.

Republicans had gained the upper hand in recent years, but 33% of Americans, in the latest Gallup poll, now call themselves Democrats, with those favoring the GOP one point behind. But Gallup says this widens a bit more “once the leanings of Independents are taken into account.”

Independents now make up 34% of the population. When asked if they lean in a certain direction, their answers pushed the Democrat numbers to 49% with Republicans at 42%. One year ago, the parties were dead even at 46% each.

This shift indicates, Gallup says, why its polls show Democrats leading in this year’s congressional races.

The latest poll was taken from January to March 2006, with a national sample of about 1,000 adults.

13 Responses to “Why does America hate America?”

  1. Chuckles Says:

    Please please please, Intelligent Designer, please let them vote that way in the next 20 election cycles.

    Maybe Bush is like Leto 2 from Dune. Maybe he is really a liberal at heart and recognizes that trying to be the worst President ever (EVAR?) will help the liberal and progressive movements better than Bush actually being a liberal.

    I can’t even think that to myslef without laughing in sadness.

  2. Res Publica Says:

    Leto II intended to ensure human survival by creating conditions such that his empire would shatter…and scatter into the infinite universe. I certainly don’t want to see America shatter, and it’s not like we can all take off in spaceships and head out to someplace new, far away from all the idiots. Because if we could, I would have done that sometime last year.

    Speaking of Frank Herbert (who I majorly heart), I just finished reading “The Jesus Incident”. Anyone else read it? I loved it, having read “Destination Void” years ago.

  3. Chuckles Says:

    I have read neither. I used the word ‘like’ deliberately. I suppose I should finish God-Emperor of Dune. I suppose I should also turn off AG Response Mode when not corresponding with her.

    Anywho, I’ll check those out soon.

  4. Adorable Girlfriend Says:

    Chuckles, take a nap already. Geesh.

  5. Chuckles Says:

    AG, take a midol already. Geesh.

  6. Adorable Girlfriend Says:

    I would but apparently you need it since I don’t have gyno problems like you do.

  7. Res Publica Says:

    Do you kids need “Time Out”?

  8. Chuckles Says:

    Go hump some furniture, AG.

  9. Adorable Girlfriend Says:

    AG whistles as Res bans Chuckles.

    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  10. Res Publica Says:

    Alas, we don’t have the death penalty here in the Republic. Although there have been comment-thread antics that annoyed me, no one has so far managed to make me consider banning. I might suggest, though, that personal fights be taken to email.

    I heart you both. 🙂

  11. plover Says:

    Chuckles and AG are like neutron stars in orbit around each other. All of the gravitational anomalies and degenerate matters and suchlike are all very well and good, but perhaps we should be worried that one day the orbit will decay and be followed by the inevitable collision. Then life will become interesting. And by interesting I mean devasted to a range of several light years… Good thing Republic of Dogs has a pronounced anti-gravitas field will protect us…

    Do you suppose the fact that America is now objectively pro-anti-American has anything to do with the dream I had a couple of days ago where Karl Rove, Duke Cunningham, and Lee Atwater – as zombies – were driving around in the Dukes of Hazzard car? They crashed the car, but eh, they were zombies, so I don’t think it had much effect.

  12. Res Publica Says:

    Good thing Republic of Dogs has a pronounced anti-gravitas field will protect us…

    Trademark!

  13. Chuckles Says:

    I like that dream.

Leave a Reply

