S.O.S.!

 

As you may know, Passover starts tomorrow night.  Seder will be served tomorrow evening in many Jewish homes. Young children will sing songs and the story of the flight out of Egypt will be recounted. A second seder for more conservative Jews will follow on Thursday evening.  What this means to AG is that AG is going to starve for the next week.  No, seriously.  S-T-A-R-V-E!  

 

When the Jews fled Egypt there was no time to wait for the bread to rise.  Thus, you cannot consume any yeast products during this time.  Have any of you eaten or consumed matzoh?  It basically tastes like nothing.  Nothing folks!  It can be followed by tam tams, also nothing and some candied fruit slices.  The fruit slices are actually OK.  The Uncanny One will try to tell you it’s all good, however, let’s recount that he eats bottle caps.  Bottle caps, folks.

 

Perhaps we should do a Passover Bake-Off for next year.  You know, so AG won’t starve!

25 Responses to “S.O.S.!”

  1. almostinfamous Says:

    AG, at least you can get the sugar’d coke instead of the corn-syrup based yukkiness.

    it tastes sooooo much better, too

  2. Chuckles Says:

    Cane sugar coke is far superior to syruped coke.

    Also, PB&J on matzoh crackers is awesome. I loved this time of year in high school.

  3. Adorable Girlfriend Says:

    Gross. I’m not eating anything but salad. I don’t care what UC and the others say. That’s what I am eating.

  4. blue girl Says:

    Does one wish another a “Happy Passover?”

    What is the appropriate wording?

  5. Adorable Girlfriend Says:

    You give me $20 and we are all set. 🙂

    In truth, for the non Jewish wisher a “Happy Passover” or “Have a nice holiday” usually suffices.

  6. blue girl Says:

    Les you think that I’ve pre-emptively started a War on Passover, I say to you:

    Happy Passover! 🙂

  7. Claire Says:

    I always loved this time because I swapped those chocolate macaroons from my friend for whatever dessert I happened to have… Happy Passover!

  8. YJA Says:

    i thought passover is when you celebrated killing my lord and savior.

  9. Adorable Girlfriend Says:

    That too my man, that too!

  10. madame rouge Says:

    You’ll have to forgive YJA; he’s a recovering Catholic.

    AG, no Betty Crocker points for you! Everyone else: our sans-corn-syrup Coca-Cola is just another reason to visit Canada! Gays can get married… there is a separation between church and state… come come come!

  11. YJA Says:

    Actually I don’t think we corn syrup as sweetner much in anything.

    Madame Rouge – you forgot about our low, low drinking age and our lovely beer.

  12. almostinfamous Says:

    you killed someone and i wasn’t invited?

    that is so unfair!

    PS: what’s the jewish stance on indian food?

  13. Brando Says:

    Happy Passover, AG! I am a post-Vatican II Catholic, so we’re cool on the whole crucifiction thing. It was all the fault of the Judean People’s Front (or was it the People’s Front of Judea?).

    Has anyone ever tried the Passover diet? It would seem to me you could drop a lot of weight. It could even be tied into Lent: “Lose 40 lbs in 40 days doing things the ancient Hebrew way!”

  14. sirbarrett Says:

    I think it must be nutritious to be Jewish, plus I like the way Matzah crunches. I hope you don’t end up looking like Nicole Richie. My sister went on a cleansing diet: no carbs, no booze, only fruit in the morning. Apparently it’s doing interesting things to her.

  15. Jimmy Says:

    Ya but now you have time to wait for your bread to rise.

  16. Demogenes Aristophanes Says:

    I gave up zweiback crackers for Lent.

  17. Adorable Girlfriend Says:

    If I celebrated lent, I would just give up giving up. Problem solved.

  18. Demogenes Aristophanes Says:

    I celebrate Lint, especially on laundry day.

  19. Adorable Girlfriend Says:

    DA, this is why I am crushing on you…

  20. The Uncanny Canadian Says:

    I celebrate lint every day. I worship its great receptacle, the belly button.

  21. Pinko Punko Says:

    Nice one, UC.

    We have previously discussed in more sophisticated fashion the sugar coke/HFCS coke dilemma here.

  22. Pinko Punko Says:

    No, not there. HERE.

    Please don’t ever get UC going on jam.

  23. Adorable Girlfriend Says:

    UC, what is this jam issue the banned one speaks of?

    I don’t care either way about the Coke/Pepsi debate because they are both evil addictions. I do need to know what mindless and Urban Outfitters shoppers has to do with the judging of foreign soda.

    Matzoh or Dr. Browns anyone? UC, you love lint and matzoh with your too few Passover friendly plates and Canadia cutlery.

    AIF, I think PP just insulted you by saying he discusses soda more sophiscated then you do. Get ’em…

  24. The Uncanny Canadian Says:

    One needs to be very careful with jam. I’ve been using the same jar of Kosher for Passover jam for almost three years now. Sadly, it is consumed. I weep for it.

    Dr. Brown’s is insidious. I found the cherished black cherry soda variety in the Kosher section of Stop and Shop and was on the verge of buying it until I realized that it was made using corn syrup and had no designation as being Kosher for Passover. Suffice to say a certain Jehovah Brown received a nasty letter from my attorney. What chutzpah!

  25. Adorable Girlfriend Says:

    That’s fakakta! You’ll have a Dr. Brown’s and we’ll talk. Don’t be silly, love chop.

    You make love to the kosher jam because you make love to the fried matzoh. Go to a real supermarket and get some new jam. My goodness!

    If you are a good boy, I’ll get you some H and H this weekend.

Leave a Reply

