Georgie-Boy and Wal-Mart

 
Georgie-boy is a friend of AG’s from way back.  (We’ll be kind here, he reads the blog).  Georgie-boy is a real live George Costanza.  He is intelligent, bright and a good person for the most part.  Yet, he doesn’t care to hold down a job for more than a year or two, he is more frugal than your grandma and he cannot get a girlfriend to save his life.  If nothing more, he’s good for entertainment. 
George and AG have lived together over the years.  AG has gotten to know him and his family very well.  His family is colorful to say the least.  To explain, his mother is a Russian Jew who married a devout Philadelphia Quaker.  You have no idea.  As such, George proclaims to be a good Democrat.  He is a writer by trade and had his own website where he posted news articles about the rightards and broke it down nicely for everyone. 
AG and George met while doing some political work.  George claimed at that time to be a good liberal.  Over the years, that truth in that has faded.  Now he just calls himself a Democrat. From supporting the Iraq war to having serious issues with Kerry to turning the local Democratic group into his prime opportunity to push his small business products, AG is not fooled.
He is a card carrying Communist who just wanted to hang with AG and the kewl kiddies.  Dink as my witness, back in the day AG was super cute, young and kewl.  There was never a dull Thursday night of drinking with AG.  Everyone wanted AG action.
When did George jump the shark? Somewhere between supporting the Iraq war and the e-mail below in reference to an e-mail forwarded to him regarding the number of crimes in Wal-mart stores and parking lots last year: 
Dear AG:
I hate to break it to you, honey, but if I had the time to do the research I could find enough reasons to boycott everywhere I shop and everywhere you shop, everything I buy and everything you buy. If you’d like to send me a list of approved retailers where I can buy affordable sox, underwear, khakis, and Tylenol (not to mention the occasional cheap watch), I’ll be happy to consider it. And let me know what grocery stores are considered appropriate as well.
Thanks,
George Costanza
AG’s response: Don’t fucking call me honey, you non union supporting cheap bastard! Are you trying to buy the Boston Red Soxs, by the way? This is the problem with middle America.  Right here! 
10 Responses to “Georgie-Boy and Wal-Mart”

  1. Chuckles Says:

    I nearly punched my brother in the face this weekend because he had me convinced that we were going to buy stuff at Wal-Mart. He was driving and it likely would have resulted in quite a major accident. He played it very well. I might have been able to restrain myself and wait until he got out of the car and then knock him out, stuff him in the car and buy the stuff at the grocery store next door. He had me going.

    But back to the topic at hand, totally AG. I don’t find it that hard to shop at union stores. There is a Safeway across the street from my apartment. I think they are union. I just buy what I need and forget what I don’t.

    This may be why I don’t have a watch. Or much clothing.

  2. Adorable Girlfriend Says:

    Thanks Chuckles!

    You should never punch anyone though. It’s best to work with family on these issues. I know my Aunt has her issues and I just call her out on them. That’s all you can do.

  3. butchie Says:

    It sounds like your pal, George is sexually frustrated. Mabye you should help him out?

  4. Adorable Girlfriend Says:

    You like the boys, why don’t I give him your number, Butchie.

  5. Rex Kramer, Danger Seeker Says:

    It seems to me, AG, that Georgie-Boy grew up and is living in the real world. Seriously, those sandals you wear? No one does that anymore!

    Ok, that was harsh, but I think that near-nude Costanza portrait put me in a mood.

    P.S. Russian Jew and a Philly Quaker? How is this NOT a sitcom?

    P.P.S. Reading back on this post, I feel compelled to avow that I AM a heterosexual.

  6. The Uncanny Canadian Says:

    Rex Kramer, don’t defend your heterosexuality. It’s a trap!!!!!!!!

  7. butchie Says:

    I will send him to George Larson.

  8. butchie Says:

    Oh, shit. That’s him, Rex Kramer. Ooooohhhhhh.

  9. almostinfamous Says:

    oh have i had my share of Georgie-boy type conversations. i converted a shiteload of people against walmart, something that i remain proud of. oh, and i gave my walmart movie thing to a local activist group who showed the thing to a lot of college students.

    what really sucks is that since wal-wart came to (the extremely poor region of) athens, oh, a k-mart, an ames, a JC Penneys and a chain of IGA’s were shut down and a whole mall was emptied. the only choice left is kroger’s, which i didn’t really want to shop at because of their cali union hijinks but had to cause the only options were BigEvil or BigLots, which isn’t really veggie friendly. but then i discovered the farmer’s market and other places, so it was all good in the end. still sucks for the hundreds with no jobs now 😦

  10. Fuzzy Words » Idiots Says:

    […] WRT the two bolded lines above i have to quote a very wonderful website: Sadly, No! . this is why. this editorial is either hopelessly naive, or complete horsecrap or a very putrid mixture of both. i think i’m going to write a letter. […]

Leave a Reply

