{new friends!}

Go check out our newest blogrollee, The Brutal Truth.  I first came across TBT on ARAVOSISblog, where his post entitled “Bourgeois Pig” is listed under the “Nothing But a Bunch of Big Girls” blogroll-of-the-damned.  I trust everyone understands that I will pretty much link on anything that says “Bourgeois Pig”?  In that post, he replies to John Aravosis’ request that everyone doesn’t agree with him about everything just go away because we’re distressing the orchids and upsetting his cats and don’t we know he’s fucking important, already??!? with the following:

Blow it out your Georgetown ass! Nobody tells me what website or blog I can visit. Not the NSA, not Charter, not AT&T, not Verizon, not Comcast, not Sen. Shithead, not Rep. Bonehead, not President Lunkhead, and most certainly of all not YOU, you shirt-shilling fuckhead. Last time I checked, you haven’t come over here to TBT, busted out with your goddamned bankcard, clicked the Pay-Pal link under my picture, and greased my wheels.

At that moment, Dear Reader, I decided that the author of TBT is my new best friend!  I want him to hang out with me and talk like that to people I hate, while die of laughter!  I actually blew a carbonated beverage out of my nose when I read “you shirt-shilling fuckhead”, and that sort of hurt.  Anyway, I started poking around, and he’s running a really neat blog with some substantial writing (which is more than you can say for this dump, really).  So go check him out, and tell him Res Publica sent you.

Enjoy the long weekend, loyal subjects, and try not to fuck up Blue Girl’s house too much at the party.

21 Responses to “{new friends!}”

  1. blue girl Says:

    I love the new header design.

    It’s quite designy in its black and white cursive austereness.

  2. Res Publica Says:

    LOL @ designy….that’s a great word. Also…austereness: it’s the new austerity!

  3. Res Publica Says:

    Thanks for the compliment, by the way. I thought the new header turned out pretty nice. I like the way it makes the header space contiguous with the body space, so there’s just one big column of white between the gray margins.

  4. blue girl Says:

    You like words that I make up that end with “y” — like computery and designy and computer programmy.

    You are easy to pleasey.

  5. mdhatter Says:

    I agree about the austereness, it reminds me of a suzanne vega album.

  6. mdhatter Says:

    in a good way

  7. Res Publica Says:

    Is there any other way to be reminded of a suzanne vega album than a good way? and thanks, btw 😉

  8. Adorable Girlfriend Says:

    I am not loving it. It’s so plain. I liked the color block before. Don’t hate me for being honest.

  9. Michael Bains Says:

    The admonitory sign language is slick. Though, I think that’s one that anyone but the blind could lip-read.

    You are an Equal Opportunity Demi-God, Res!

  10. Res Publica Says:

    Don’t worry, AG, I won’t hate you for being honest. I have plenty of other things to hate you for.

  11. Res Publica Says:

    I’ll probably put the other three headers back in the rotation pool, so you’ll only have to look at the new (good) one 25% of the time.

  12. blue girl Says:

    I just noticed your category for this post.

    😆

    Now, if you’ll excuse me — I’ve got some flowers to go and plant and then slowly watch die.

  13. Res Publica Says:

    LOL this morning, I managed to revive all my herbs after a week of total neglect and brutal heat. They were all wilted and sad-looking.

  14. blue girl Says:

    I was at teh Home Depot this morning — do they give all their money to Republicans? I have to see — should I have not shopped there? Anyway, too late now — they had the coolest thing.

    In one pot: Tomato plant, parsley, sweet basil, sage and some other delicious herbs. The instructions said — that when you replant, if you do it soon — that you should replant the tomato plant 80% into the dirt.

    Does that sound weird? I think it sounds weird, but I’m gonna be a good blue girl and follow the instructions, cuz God knows I don’t know what the H-E-double toothpicks I’m doing on my own.

  15. Res Publica Says:

    No, that’s correct. You can bury almost the entire plant. They like to be planted deep, because they tend to grow tall. Plant your basil close to the tomatoes…it will keep some of the tomato-lovin’ critters away. Also, be really sure your sage gets lots of sun, and barely water it at all. I have finally managed to keep a sage plant alive, but it took be a long time to glom on to why the kept dying. They are very susceptible to mold and fungus. They like dry soil and sunlight.

  16. blue girl Says:

    Thank you for the tips, my friend! Because I planted tomato plants wrong in the past is probably why I only ever got one tomato out of the dang deal! I should probably separate the sage from the other plants, then.

    I haven’t gotten much plantin’ done today. My son’s got a bunch of friends over and they were all crying and moaning that there was no food in the house.

    “We need Oreos!!!!!!!”

    So, I had to go grocery shopping and just got back. I think I’ll head out now and start doin’ what I should’ve been doin’ hours ago.

    What’s a good dish to use sage in? The only thing I know about sage is all Simon & Garfunkle.

    Parsely, saaaaaaaaage, rosemary and time……

  17. Pinko Punko Says:

    Oh jesus, BG. Sage is good with TONS of stuff.

    COME ON.

    Wild rice pilaf. Roast chicken. Anything with sausage really. Stuffing.

    I am convinced of BG’s highness.

    I think maybe we should redo the contest.

  18. Res Publica Says:

    Hmm fresh sage is such a revelation…so much more complex and wonderful than dried rubbed sage.

    Here’s my absolute fave:

    Roast Pinko Punko a butternut squash (just cut it in half, scoop out the stringy crap, drizzle with olive oil and roast on a cookie sheet in a medium oven until the flesh is soft). Scrape out the flesh, mix it with a little grated parmigiano reggiano, salt, fresh ground pepper, and an egg. Refrigerate that, and then use it as a filling to make some ravioli. If you’re an overachieving dork, you can get out the torture pasta machine and make the pasta from scratch, but really, wonton wrappers make great ravioli. Boil those for a hot sec and drain them well.

    Then melt a stick of good, salty butter in a sauce pan over medium heat. Once the foam starts to subside, toss in a handfull of sage leaves (whole, or cut into a julienne, doesn’t matter). Let that cook until the sage is crisp and the butter is fragrant and lightly browned. Dress the ravioli with the sage brown butter and shave a little parmigiano reggiano over them.

    This is one of my favorite dishes EVER, and I am no big fan of any kind of stuffed pasta that involves me standing in the kitchen doing some dippy little task (like filling ravioli) over and over again.

  19. Res Publica Says:

    Also, Pinko is right about roast chicken. Try tucking a few sage leaves under the skin that covers the breasts. As the fat renders out of the skin, it will pick up the flavor of the sage and carry it down into the meat….delish. Same trick works very nicely with basil or thyme.

  20. blue girl Says:

    Oh. My. God.

    No wonder Res is steamed that he lost the Cookie contest.

    If I were to pull off that ravioli recipe — I would demand to go on Oprah and be interviewed about it.

    I think I’ll try it!

    Pinko! Did you see my comment to you at my place? Just wonderin’.

  21. Res Publica Says:

    LOL @ demanding to go on Oprah

    You should try the recipie…it’s really easy, and it will impress everyone.

Leave a Reply

