A walk in the park

Here are some pictures from Walker Ranch Historical Park, where I went for a walk this evening.

13 Responses to “A walk in the park”

  1. midniter Says:

    Great pics, Res.

  2. Res Publica Says:

    Thanks….looks like WordPress did some compression thingie to them, though. They’re all pixelated. That’s not right.

  3. Thom Says:

    Really nice, shots and subjects. Hey–norhtwest of San Antonio? Yous ever get to the Kerville Folk Fest? Have some legendary memories from that universe.

  4. Res Publica Says:

    I haven’t been to that, but I’ve heard of it. This Walker Ranch place is actually smack-dab in the middle of the suburban northeast side of San Antonio, very near my apartment. I stopped in to check it out, but all I saw from the road was the paved jogging path and the playground. Imagine my surprise upon discovering a little patch of unspoiled Texas amid all the shitty apartments and stripmalls!

  5. plover Says:

    looks like WordPress did some compression thingie to them

    In the css, it looks like images are automatically constrained to a width no greater than the main column of text. You could add “width” attributes to the img tags, but that would probably just screw up the page formatting. If you resized the images in a real image program instead of having peoples browsers do it, it would probably look better. There are probably other solutions, since I’m just making random-ass suggestions and only sort of know what I’m talking about.

  6. almostinfamous Says:

    plover, a bird of many talents!

    but if you’re uploading the pics via the little upload tool at the bottom of the page, then when you send it to the editor, make use of the thumbnail or it will compress them to the maximum width of the post(400px maybe)

    cause the last one is the one that seems uncompressed

    the sunflower photo is really hawt, as is the last windmill one 🙂

  7. BOSSY Says:

    Ah, I didn’t realize you were embedded in Texas.

  8. Kevin Wolf Says:

    Thanks for sharing. Very nice. And a welcome change from the super idiocy represented by the wingnuts as discussed in the prior post.

  9. Res Publica Says:

    Thanks for the technical advice, guys! I’m really not as stupid as I seem, however. I did resize the photos, but obviously not enough.

    Also, thanks for the compliments! 🙂

  10. Claire Says:

    Gorgeous photos, Res. It looks like a peaceful walk. It’s always nice to find nature where you least expected it!

  11. blue girl Says:

    Res, I just realized that I didn’t comment on your pretty photos.

    They’re pretty!

    I’ve never considered you stupid. Lots of other things! Oh yes! But, stupid? Pshaw.

  12. madamerouge Says:

    I have never seen a cactus growing in anything other than a pot, indoors. Neat.

  13. Res Publica Says:

    Really? Those things are like weeds down here.

Leave a Reply

