Rose Colored Glasses

null

While in Target* tonight, AG saw the final argument for why cell phones should be banned across the world and mandatory intelligence testing for all fertile people in America.

Dixie cup was sitting on the floor trying on sandals. AG was aghast at how one person can take up a whole isle of shoes. Then AG hears, “Should I put them on or just take a picture of them?” With that she puts on the shoes and takes a photo. “OK, I’m sending.”

Unbelievable! If you are that insecure that making a shoe purchase now requires you to e-mail your “supposed friend” (notice she doesn’t care enough to come with you) to give you her opinion, you clearly are not responsible enough to own a cell phone. You might also want to consider sterilization because the last thing America needs is another you.

Sometimes it’s like Americans are living as though there isn’t a war going on, gas prices really aren’t offensive, they don’t believe that minimum wage has never been so far from cost of living or seem to notice that a woman still isn’t safe in her own home. If only AG could get such a pair of blinders and talk about inane stuff all day long.

* AG likes to walk around Target, just to look. It’s a form of protest for their refusal to stock the Plan B in pharmacies. It’s kind of like when AG goes to Wal-Mart and only purchases condoms and always from the associate with a big cross around his/her neck. It’s all for shits and giggles!

19 Responses to “Rose Colored Glasses”

  1. robola Says:

    yeah, i don’t think most people are very affected by the war beyond the emotional obstacle it presents to them.

    That’s a perfect idea for buying at Walmart. Make the fundies sweat!

    ok, typing with one arm is 2 much trouble after surgery. Time for my oxycontin and commenting sabbatical 🙂

  2. Chuckles Says:

    Where is the shoe rationing of the ’40s?

    For that matter, where is the rationing of the 40s?

  3. Kevin Wolf Says:

    Sometimes I wish I was stupid. You know, “Bush is a guy I could sit down and have a beer with” stupid. Life would be so much easier.

  4. butchie Says:

    You only feel that way because Res got angry when you cameraphoned him a photo of yourself trying on a new blouse.

  5. Res Publica Says:

    Lord knows I have nothing good to say about Bush or the shithole he’s making of this country, but…

    Are people not allowed to shop for shoes in a time of war? Are you only allowed to use your cameraphone to photograph human rights abuses and email them to the International War Crimes Tribunal? Anyway, maybe she’s buying the shoes for the person she’s talking to. Not that it matters, because the last time I checked, this was America, land of the free (to take pictures of shoes until the cows come home, if we so desire).

    In the immortal words of Ignignokt of Aqua Teen Hunger Force, “What is this, a prison camp? Is no one allowed to have fun here?”

    Also, in light of…well…the 20th century, the Republic of Dogs is officially opposed to talk about mandatory sterilization, government-administered intelligence tests, and all the rest of that crap. There’s a name for that, and it’s “eugenics”.

  6. blue girl Says:

    Are you only allowed to use your cameraphone to photograph human rights abuses and email them to the International War Crimes Tribunal?

    That’s what I do when I’m not holding a fundraiser on my blog so I can go to Europe.

  7. Res Publica Says:

    Blue Girl! Saving America by keeping her eye ON THE BALL!!

  8. blue girl Says:

    I’m doing my part to save America by drinking tap water instead of bottled water, not putting those yellow ribbon magnet thingies on my car and by yelling at Chris Matthews on TV every night when he kisses up to whichever Republican shill is sitting opposite him.

    JOIN ME IN THE FIGHT!

  9. Res Publica Says:

    I yell at the TV a great deal. The radio too! Funny thing is, I used to think my grandpa was crazy for yelling at the news.

    *sigh*

  10. Adorable Girlfriend Says:

    Now, now, Res. Everyone has a right to freedom and we agree that sterilization is NO light matter. In fact it rarely is suggested, given that AG is usually fighting for control of her own reproductive organs, let alone be concerned with others. However, there was an irony in that Target is anti woman and this woman was shopping for shoes at Target which uses its political clout to act against her. Perhaps the irony was missed and not set up properly. Given that AG hasn’t been feeling well, this is a strong possibility. The editors will be consulted next time. 🙂

    Nevertheless, the issue is that cheap shoes were her focus. Shoe picture taking was here drama for the evening. This was her. It consumed her and an entire isle of Target. Now everyone has a right to all of these things and we encourage all this, but when shoes are THAT important to you, at Target no less, there is a major concern for the world that perhaps we’ve gone so far that we’ve forgotten what really matters.

    The play UC and I saw Rediscovering America got at this with interviews of people talking right after 9/11.

  11. blue girl Says:

    The play UC and I saw Rediscovering America got at this with interviews of people talking right after 9/11.

    I’d love to see that. I would totally be into it. I remember I was at a photo shoot 2 days after 9/11 — and you would’ve thought nothing had happened at all the way the clients were all about shooting their ultra-important in the scheme of life 14″ submarine sandwiches for the posters that had to be put up or the world was going to come to an end.

    My mind was barely functioning.

    Still isn’t!

    Res, my son is always yelling at me for yelling at the TV. He thinks it’s ridiculous.

    Little does he know he will be doing it in about 20 years.

    🙂

  12. Adorable Girlfriend Says:

    Yeah, it was a great play BG. It really captured how vast the land is in America and how detached people have become. That was my whole thought about Target and why I was there. I like to go there, but never buy anything because I won’t forget their refusal to stock Plan B. I make a protest via my wallet and political agenda. That was the irony of my comments. Maybe I am too political or whatever, but someone has to take a stand because too many people are wrapped up in their own stuff (and for some, really legit important stuff), to do anything about what isn’t acceptable. It makes me sad those who can, don’t.

  13. Res Publica Says:

    I think you’re drawing unwarranted conclusions about her fundamental character because you saw her paying attention to shoes while…shopping for shoes, and that seems unfair to me. Unfair, and mean. Of course it was “her drama for the evening”. The unwarranted conclusion is in the leap from that statement to “This was her”. Perhaps “this” was just her…SHOPPING FOR SHOES.

    I also get the feeling that you’re making fun of someone who seemed low-class to you, and maybe that’s what’s really rubbing me the wrong way. I had a similar feeling about the “off the rack at Walmart” remark a few days ago. This blog is both Democratic and democratic, and we’re not here to turn up our noses at the demos.

    Lots of people don’t have much money. They (or, rather, we) get their shoes at Target. Because it’s nicer than Walmart, and as much as I’d love to stick it to The Man by shopping at Macy’s instead, a) that’s not sticking it to The Man, and b) I’m too poor. Poor people still want nice shoes.

  14. blue girl Says:

    I love shopping for shoes. Especially black shoes.

    But, I like it better when I can find the perfect pair immediately.

    I get too le fatigue if I have to try on more than a few pair — pairs? — in one shopping trip.

    I’ve always felt sorry for the people who work in shoe departments. It’s got to be hard on the back. Don’t you think? And when they’re older women…I feel really bad.

    Ok. That’s my shopping for shoe dissertation for the day.

    There may be a pop quiz at some unknown time in the future.

    🙂 — ending this comment with a smiley face!

  15. midniter Says:

    I have a question…where exactly are we supposed to buy things nowadays? We all know that Wal-Mart is evil, but I admit to not knowing that Target doesn’t stock Plan B. I do know that they provide domestic partner benefits and that they’re really convenient for me to stop and get things at. But if I’m not supposed to shop there, and I hate Wal-Mart with a passion, where am I supposed to buy things that I need? I like to support local businesses when I can, but San Antonio has turned into a series of strip malls at every intersection, each with the exact same stores.

  16. blue girl Says:

    Midniter!

    If you’re a really good liberal you are supposed to make everything from scratch..

    That’s what I do!

    And I win contests doing it.

    🙂

  17. BOSSY Says:

    THE THING ABOUT TARGET: checking with a friend before making a purchase is a non-issue. Know this – I am a resistant consumer at heart. Who needs to line George W’s confident pockets? But shopping at Target is like storing a supply of Kleenex up your shirtsleeve, or like combining your stale bread with Kidney Beans to make Thursday night’s goulash — it’s practically a non-economic issue. I’m with AG – my Great Dane would pass that doggie intelligence test. No cell phone photos need apply!

  18. Yosef Says:

    I didn’t see it as an economic thing. I don’t think AG was cobagitating against the poor (like me.) I actually read it more as commentary on how far we’ve fallen because of cell phones.

    Of course, the technology is there to be used, so we might as well use it.

    I’m actually not a fan of Target anymore because the quality of their stuff has gone way downhill, and their prices have gone up. I no longer view them as “the nicer Wal*Mart”, but rather a different animal completely. They still have stuff that looks nicer than Wal*Mart’s stuff, and their stores are cleaner and more well-lit, but everything you can buy there will break or fall apart or not work at the moment you get it home.

    But I also agree with midniter. As the cost of living starts to look back and see my wages growing faint in the distance behind it, I’m going to have to start shopping at Wal*Mart or Target or Fred’s or Roses or any number of those stores, because I just can’t afford to shop anywhere else anymore.

  19. midniter Says:

    Blue…I’ve got too much of a fetish for long-sleeve button down shirts and not enough sewing skills to make those from scratch. I’m very high maintenance like that, so even though I’m poor, I can usually be found shopping at any store that has a Polo shop.

    Screw winning contests…I’d rather look cute than look like I escaped from some polygamist compound ala Big Love .

Leave a Reply

