Israel’s Take on Things

The Medical Director at work who lives in Israel sent this to me today. It’s worth spending a few minutes to listen. The end is interesting.

11 Responses to “Israel’s Take on Things”

  1. almostinfamous Says:

    that was kind of all over the place. the lady obviously, has some points. but you cannot blame the problem on ‘the muslims’.

    the opiate of the masses keeps them thinking that their religion is being attacked, when in truth it is mostly about power and who can demonstrate it better.

  2. Adorable Girlfriend Says:

    I don’t blame anyone. It’s a challenging situation. Peace talks are hard to maintain and a solution is difficult when the parties don’t agree on much. One party also involves a known terrorist organization.

  3. Peter Says:

    I can’t remember what I was about to write – I was too distracted by seeing the words :opiate of the masses” – god it’s been so long! I think the last time I saw/heard those words The Preppy Handbook was in it’s first printing and I was in high school trying far too hard to sound angry/intelligent…….It did just occur to me though that the year was about 1982 or so, and Israel was just invading Lebanon…….maybe penny loafers will be “coming back” soon too!!!!!

  4. Adorable Girlfriend Says:

    Oh I hope the Penny loafers come back. I had some in college and all my friends loved them. Unfortunately, the Material Girl of layers and layers of neon clothes are big right now. I threw up a little in my mouth when I saw the styles in the Target flyer that came in the Sunday paper. Thank goodness for Bloomies and Banana Republic!

  5. mdhatter Says:

    It is getting easier and easier to be an Ugly American.

    Now all you have to do is buy something advertised, cuz it’s all total shite.

    Give me a pair of carhartts and a 10 dollar t-shirt (blank t-shirt, not logo t-shirt (They should pay ME)), and i’m good to go.

    For work, layer on a button-down.

    Screw ‘style’, I have too much to do.

  6. teh l4m3 Says:

    Carhartt’s be the bomb diggity.

  7. Adorable Girlfriend Says:

    HOORAY! teh teh is back. AG heart teh teh!

  8. Kevin Wolf Says:

    mdhatter has the right idea. Anyway, I’m over 40 and nobody over 40 should be wearing a t-shirt with ANY graphic on it.

  9. Adorable Girlfriend Says:

    I agree Kev-o! Nobody should wear t-shirts. Can we pass that message on to a certain Canadian we all know.

  10. sirbarrett Says:

    I agree with Almostinfamous. It is dangerous to talk about the values being fought for in this war being held by all Jews or Muslims because obviously there is such a spectrum of belief amongst all secular and non-secular people. Also, she seems to set up a comparison between the violence of the Muslims versus the lack of violence of the Jews. She sets up a dialectic between two polar opposites when that is not necessarily the case. Both Jews and Muslims are monotheists -therein lies the clash, if there is one at all. If you count the IDF as fighting for the Jewish cause then it very much isn’t the case that Jews have never protested violently. I don’t think you can call what Israel has done pure “defense” either. Of course, soldiers are not considered “terrorists” yet there have been about 10 times as many civilian deaths caused by the IDF compared to those caused by Hezbollah in this recent war on Lebanon.

    Unfortunately, neither side seems to be teaching the other a lesson, or acting as a role model.

  11. Peter Says:

    I’ll have to Google Carhartts. No idea……maybe they’ll take a while to come to Canada – just like “New Coke” did all those years ago.

Leave a Reply

