an actual sermon that’s actually worth listening to

I left the Unitarian church a long time ago, returning to more orthodox Christian faith for reasons too complicated to rehearse here. Every once in a while, though, something causes me to remember one of the many fine women and men I met in among the Unitarians. Some of them were very wise, and I have found that to be an exceedingly rare quality among human beings of any sort.

The Rev. Laurel Hallman of First Unitarian Church of Dallas is one such person. Her homiletic voice belies a humble and compassionate heart as much as an intellect of remarkable clarity. We would do well to have more preachers like her in America’s pulpits, calling us to the examined life.

This sermon, called “What if you knew then what you know now?”, touched me with its evocation of the “tribe of our true affections”. Maybe it will touch you too.

Leave a comment